Monday Musings: Motivation

It’s Thanksgiving already.  Where has this year gone?  It feels like summer was a just a few days ago.  Wait, it was!   70° on Thursday and Friday plunged to 30° and snow showers on Saturday.  Ugh.  I’m over winter and it’s still a month away.

I haven’t been posting much, for several reasons.  First, my desktop, a 6 year old HP and my baby, started to die.  I used it as little as possible and relied on my unacceptably slow laptop to do a lot of my computer-ing.   But last week, as an early Christmas present, I got a brand new HP desktop that’s infinitely better but has a long way to go until it’s my baby.   Windows 10 is pure evil and every day, I pray that everyone at Microsoft is sentenced to  spend an eternity in Hell where they lose all of their work because their computer continually reboots to install updates.  So much of my time has been devoted to figuring out the easiest way to downgrade back to Windows 7.

But, the new computer also means I can play my beloved Sims game again.  After spending 4 hours copying over my game data from my old computer and reinstalling all of my downloads/mods, I wasted several days happily Sim-ing.   Reviews did not get done.  New rule: no playing Sims until a review are posted.  I’ve only broken that rule 3 or 4 days out of the last week but I’m trying.

A big part of the problem is that I’m review-stipated.  I have 6 or 7 reviews to write for books I’ve read within the last 3 or 4 weeks and I keep putting them off. It certainly isn’t due to the quality of the books I’ve read, they’ve all been fantastic.  I don’t know why I’m just not inspired to write.  Every review I’ve written lately has taken hours to do.  I sit down, write a few sentences and then wander off to do something else.  You know it’s bad when I decide to vacuum the floor and dust, just so I can put it off that much longer.

So, how do you motivate yourself to keep your blog updated?  Leave a comment, I’d love some tips on how to stay focused and get my reviews done faster!

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Motivation

  1. When I get in a review funk, I let it sit for 2 days. If I’m still in it, I do a 2 sentence or 2 little paragraph review, just so I’m writing. Doesn’t matter if it is good or really conveys how I felt about the book or anything. Just write!
    That usually works for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The problem for me right now is that I’ve put off several reviews for weeks and now I’ve read so many other books that it’s hard to remember what I wanted to comment about in my reviews. I really should start taking notes when I read.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In that case, give a synopsis so in 5 years at least you know WHAT the book was about.
        Or even just write that you liked it, didn’t like it or were “meh” about it.

        But clearing it out [haha] is the best thing. That way it’s not weighing on your mind. You might not like the review, but it’ll be over and done…

        Like

  2. and on a separate note, I’d just give up and accept Win10. Unless you think you can function with W7 until a new iteration comes out. Whether that will be better or worse is unknowable though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really, the big issue for Win10 is the damn forced updates. After they released the Win7 update that nagged people to upgrade to Win10, I got in the habit of checking every update before I installed it, so I’m really annoyed that I don’t have that option any more. Now I’m at the mercy of whatever Win10 wants to screw up, I already had to roll back that damn anniversary update that made it impossible to schedule a restart. So to downgrade to Win7 and risk problems when it’s no longer supporter seems like a better option than putting up with Win10’s shenanigans.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

