TBR Tuesday (October 18, 2016)

Managed to get through 4 of the 5 books from last week, so I’m feeling pretty good about my 2016 Reading Challenge progress. But then again, there’s about 30 more waiting in my Soon-To-Be-Read pile, fighting to make it on the list.bookfight

Great, now I’m picturing some kind of Thunder Dome battle between books fighting to be read next. Aaaannd now I can’t think about anything else.

Ok, where was I?  Oh yes.  This week’s TBR is chock-full of this and that and everything else.  There’s some seriously good reads on this list, I may have to turn off the phone, tv, computer and everything else so I don’t get interrupted!

10796935Darkscope

“A frightening tale of lost souls, lost love, murder and deceit.”
—The Sierra Vista Herald
This is the one I didn’t get to last week, and it’s first on my list this week.

pumpkin-1456919

31860053

The United States of Absurdity

From the creators of the comedy/history podcast “The Dollop,” “The United States of Absurdity” presents short, informative, and hilarious stories of the most outlandish (but true) people, events, and more from United States history. Comedians Dave Anthony and Gareth Reynolds cover the weird stories you didn’t learn in history class, such as 10-Cent Beer Night, the Jackson Cheese, and the Kentucky Meat Shower, each accompanied by a full-page illustration that brings these historical “milestones” to life in full-color. Adding to the giftable history/comedy package, each story is accompanied by tongue-in-cheek trivia and timelines that help place the stories in context with the more well-known historical events that occurred around them

I  saw this on Netgalley and I knew this was right up my alley when I saw “Kentucky Meat Shower.”  Who can resist that?  Not me, that’s who.

pumpkin-1456919

29284829

Behead Me

Retired FBI agent Cliff Knowles thought he was being hired by a Fortune 500 company just to find out why their sales of spare parts were down. He soon learns that where there’s money there’s mayhem – and murder.

Written by a former FBI agent,  his books are loosely based  on his real life cases.  I read the excerpt on Amazon and was hooked from the first page

pumpkin-1456919

30832036Frog Legs

The body was found in the early morning, face down in the murky waters of the marsh. There was no question that he had drowned. The question was did he have help? And if he did, who, among the many, irate people upon whose toes he had trod, had helped to send him on his way? The only witnesses have frog legs and they have nothing to say on the matter.

I had just seen Dunbartons mysteries somewhere (must’ve been recommended on Goodreads or something)  and when I was offered a copy of this book, I thought I’d give it a try.  I read the excerpt on Amazon and it sounds really good, I liked the writing right from the beginning.

pumpkin-1456919

29933974

Ghostland

An intellectual feast for fans of offbeat history, Ghostland takes readers on a road trip through some of the country’s most infamously haunted places–and deep into the dark side of our history.

*squee*  I’m hoping this one has some good thrills and chills.  I love true ghost stories!

What’s on top of your TBR list this week?

Leave a Reply

