Review: The Book Club Murders

30525902

New release! The Book Club Murders by Leslie Nagel

Charley Carpenter, owner of Old Hat Vintage Fashions, is a member of the Agatha Book Club (named after the Dame herself) with a clique of high society ladies. After two local women are found dead, Charley and BFF Frankie find clues that link the murders to their book club. Charley reluctantly takes the information to Detective Marcus Trenault. Despite their rocky past, Charley and Marcus must team up to stop a murderer.

Fantastic book! I thoroughly enjoyed The Book Club Murders, so much so that I turned around and read it again, just to see if I could pick up all the things I missed! I first heard about this book from Wanderlust’s  fantastic review  and couldn’t wait to read it.  And I wasn’t disappointed! Great characters and a fast-paced plot sucked me in right from the the first chapter. Guileless Charley and intense Marc are equally matched in the strong-willed and stubborn department. While I thought their romance was a bit overwrought, it was cute and softened the story a little.And the plot! Full of red herrings, surprise twists and fast-paced action, it kept me guessing until the very end. I loved how all the red-herrings were a plot thread in themselves.. The Agathas and their secrets and tragedies added just the right amount of drama to give the plot lots of depth and dimension. I have to ask, though: who shot the video at the crime scene? Did they ever investigate it? Perhaps it will be in the next book…

Overall, an exceptional mystery and I can’t wait for the next book in the series! I definitely recommend this book as a must read.

A big thank you to Random House – Alibi and Netgalley for the ARC in exchange for my honest review.

The Book Club Murders is available at  Amazon Barnes & Noble

Series: The Oakwood Mysteries #1
Rating: ★★★★ 5 stars
Publisher: Alibi
Publication Date: September 27, 2016
Format: Kindle, ePub
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Language: English
ISBN-13: 9780425285206
ASIN:  B01A4ATX9E
Reviewer: Mystereity Reviews
7 thoughts on “Review: The Book Club Murders

      1. If you liked that book, you would love Julie Hyzy’s A White House Chef Mystery series or Jenn McKinlay’s London Hat Shop Mystery Series those are the next set of books I will likely write reviews about.

        Like

        1. I’ve heard many good things about Julie Hyzy’s White House Chef series, but I have yet to try it. I can’t wait for your reviews. I’ve read the London Hat Shop series and enjoyed them, but I hate waiting for the new book to come out!

          Like

Leave a Reply

