Review: Quirky Essays for Quirky People: The Complete Collection

24904879Quirky Essays for Quirky People by Barbara Venkataraman

Humorous, entertaining and witty, Quirky Essays for Quirky People has 24 essays/short stories about life, family, and the perfection of life as an imperfect person.

I’m a big fan of the author’s cozy mystery series, so I expected this to be just as laugh out loud funny and it was! The story about her cooking disaster made me laugh until I cried.  I related to so many of the stories! As a lazy bones procrastinator who can sniff out candy a mile away, I saw myself on quite a few of those pages. The author’s stories about her family were heartwarming and sweet, they sound like wonderful people to be around. I loved the story about losing power after a hurricane.  I have lived in Florida and the trauma of losing power after a storm.  If there is a God, he has a seriously mean sense of humor to make hurricane season during the already hot and sweaty summer months.  I have to say, though, that I now live in Amish country and I can tell you they’re not as disconnected from the modern world as people believe. For example, I was in Walmart recently and watched an Amish woman wheeling a cart through the store.  There was only one item in the cart: a big, electric box fan.  Hmmm…….

Guaranteed to bring a smile to your face, Quirky Essays for Quirky People is a hilarious look into life and the perfect book to curl up with when trying to avoid doing something else.

Quirky Essays for Quirky People is available on Amazon

 

Rating: ★★★★★ 5 stars
Publication Date: May 13, 2014
Genre: Non-Fiction, Humor
Formats: Kindle
Language: English
ASIN: B00KC7BNNY
Reviewer: Tam (Mystereity Reviews)
2 thoughts on “Review: Quirky Essays for Quirky People: The Complete Collection

  1. After reading your review, I bought this one from Amazon. Just started it yesterday and the first line was just perfection – She talks about her dad not being handy but trying oh so hard! Reminded me of my dad; we’d have to hire tradies while dad was at work to come around and fix everything! So far, great read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

