Review: Much Ado About Muffin

cozy mystery, Victoria Hamilton, mystereity, booksMuch Ado About Muffin: A Merry Muffin Mystery by Victoria Hamilton

Much Ado About Muffin has Merry returning from an extended stay in Spain to find that Roma, an overbearing opera singer, has come to stay at Wynter Castle and has managed to rub everyone in Autumn Vale the wrong way, especially thorny postmistress Minnie Urqhart. Soon after arriving home, Merry finds Minnie dead, stabbed with a letter opener that looks like one Roma had when she threatened Minnie on a previous occasion. Merry knows Roma didn’t kill Minnie, and sets out to find the real killer.

Merry is finally moving on with her life after putting her feelings for her late husband to rest. For some reason, she has to go around and apologize to all of her friends for being away for so long and I’m not sure why. Apparently Autumn Vale citizens get upset if you don’t call them constantly, I guess.  But it’s good to see Merry getting past things and thinking of the future and I’m dying to know what her new idea for the castle.

The main plot, solving Minnie’s murder, was done quite well; several suspects with motives and lots of plot twists made for a riveting read. The subplots, with Shiloh acting strangely and Emerald seemingly caught up in the cult-like Consciousness Calling group added to the suspense and kept me guessing and turning pages through the book.

I loved that there was a lot of Hannah in this story, she’s my favorite character  and I’d love to see a whole plot around her.  Lizzie is also a great character, her teenage angst is well drawn and true to life.  But for me, it’s the location that’s a  big draw for me,  I grew up in Western New York and the author sets the setting perfectly.  It’s so easy for me to visualize exactly where Autumn Vale is, and it sucks me into the story better than anything else.

What happened to Merry’s luggage, anyway?  That thread was completely dropped and since it figured into one of the subplots, I wondered why it was dropped.  I had visions of Minnie wearing some expensive Italian shoes that Merry picked up while in Europe.

And I am going to make those chocolate walnut muffins very, very soon.  *drool*

This can be read as a stand-alone, as prior events are explained (and not a hindrance to the plot) but I recommend reading the series in order, because there are some on-going plot threads that would be better understood if the books are read in order.

Much Ado About Muffin is available at book retailers, on Amazon or at Barnes & Noble

Series: Merry Muffin Mystery
Rating: ★★★★✰ 4 stars
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: August 2, 2016
Format: Kindle, ePub, Paperback
Genre: Cozy Mystery
Language:
English
ISBN-13: 978-0425282588
ASIN: B01839Q4WW
Reviewer: Tam (Mystereity Reviews)
2 thoughts on “Review: Much Ado About Muffin

  1. It’s hard not to read this series without fresh baked goods nearby. It’s the literary equivalent of The Great British Bake Off!

    There are always great recipes at the end of these books and this one had a recipe for chocolate walnut brownies that I could almost taste as I read it. I need these in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

