Review: At the Drop of a Hat

22738620At the Drop of a Hat by Jenn McKinlay

At the Drop of a Hat is book 3 of The Hat Shop series.  Scarlett and cousin Vivian meet a young woman, Ariana, who brings them an old Mim’s Whims hat that she wants repaired so that she can wear it to her wedding.  When Ariana is arrested for her boss’s murder, Scarlett and Vivian work to prove the woman’s innocence.

This series would make a great drinking game; every time Scarlett’s face turns flaming red, take a shot.  Every time the names “Harry” and “Ginger” are used, take a shot.   Every time Harrison makes Scarlett weak in the knees take a shot.   Meanwhile, I guarantee you’ll be passed out drunk by chapter 3.

Out of all the books I’ve read in this series, I like this one the best.  The plot was really well done, I couldn’t put the book down!  While the moaning about the no-dating rule is grating on my last nerve, it really didn’t feel like a big part of this book (like it was in the previous books.)   The bombshell at the end was enough to make me immediately start the next in the series, though, so I will say that despite Scarlett and Viv acting like a couple of immature teenagers, I am hooked on this series.

Overall, very entertaining, engrossing and enjoyable.  (I love alliteration.  It fills me with joy)

At the Drop of a Hat is available wherever books are sold.  Pick up a copy at Amazon
7 thoughts on “Review: At the Drop of a Hat

  1. There’s plenty of cozy mysteries that could get you drunk via drinking game lol. I wouldn’t try it but it’s fun to think about.

    Like

      1. Yeah I’m not much of a drinker either. I’d be the same if I did while reading cozies.

        Are you familiar with cozy-mysteries blog?

        Like

            1. Oh yes, I love that site! I’ve found so many new series to read on there, it’s a great resource. The Cozy Mystery group on Goodreads is anothe rplace I find a lot of new books. But you’ve just given me an idea for a new post, thanks!

              Liked by 1 person

            2. I love that site too! It’s one of my favorites. I agree, it is such a great resource. I think I’m part of that or at least I used to be. I’m not as active anymore but I need to get back into it. Oh glad I was helpful to you. Excited to see your post. No problem!

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

