Review: Death of a Mad Hatter

18667885Death of a Mad Hatter by Jenn McKinlay

Book 2 of The Hat Shop Mystery series has Mim’s Whims hat shop creating hats for a client’s Alice In Wonderland themed tea party.  When the client’s son turns up dead amid family tension over an inheritance.  Scarlett and the gang must find a mad as a hatter killer.

The plot was quite good, but it was overshadowed by the schmaltzy, almost forced, romantic tension between the MC and the token hunky guy.   I thought the investigation was a little far-fetched, (let’s visit a funeral home to find clues!)  but overall, I enjoyed it.

I loved the theme of an Alice In Wonderland party!  I wish I could get Viv to make hats for my family and friends!The only big gripe I have is the dialogue and vernacular between characters.  I’m sorry, but you can’t insert things like “codswallop” into a person’s dialogue and expect that will make them sound British.  And, in this book, it doesn’t.  The British people sound like they’re more American than the American is.  It just puts me off, more so than the MC’s immaturity, the love-triangle-that-isn’t and the cheesy will-they-or-won’t-they romance.

 

Death of a Mad Hatter is available anywhere books are sold, or at Amazon  Pick up a copy today!

 

Leave a Reply

